top of page

Around Huntley Meadows Park

Tell Me A Story: Monthly Blog (May 2017)

I did not know about this park until my photographer friend Stephon Sterns told me about it. We arranged to meet at the park entrance and I was so happy to be be there, so close to the nature.

Huntley Meadows Park, the largest park operated by the Fairfax County Park Authority (1,452 acres (588 ha)), is located in the Hybla Valley area of Fairfax County, Virginia, south of the city of Alexandria. The park features a visitor center, a beaver-created wetland with boardwalk, wildlife observation platforms, and an interpretative trail system. The park is home to abundant wildlife and is known for attracting many birds, amphibians, and plants that are considered less common in the region. Secondary-growth forest, sprinkled with several small, native-grass and wildflower meadows surround much of the wetland habitat.

Here are some pictures I took on my last trip with my son last Sunday.

On the entrance of the part. It has been managed so well.

A Heron was waiting for his prey.

Not sure what it was doing, but it was pretty impressive.

A Pileated Woodpecker in the trees in the distance. I wish I had a better view.

Aren't these turtles beautiful. I think there are more than ten species of turtles in the park.

Heron was able to get catch something. It was very small and I could not make it out what it was.

A duck in the distance.

Red winged black bird in action.

I believe this is the female of the red wing black bird but I am sure.

There were abundance of Bull frogs and you could hear very loud noise.

I noticed a snake and took a picture. When I came home, I noticed two snakes not one. Do you see both the snakes?

Red winged black bird on a small bush.

A muskrat busy with its actions.

There were plenty of turtles,, and the scenes were really beautiful.

A blue heron waiting for moment to dive and get its meal.

Another beautiful Red Bellied Woodpecker.

Beautiful female duck.

Colors are pretty.

Another Red Bellied Woodpecker in action.

Mother duck with the ducklings.

Another big frog. I love their eyes.

Not this way.

I am watching you. These snakes are not poisonous, that what I was told. but I am a little scared.

Thank you for joining me for this month’s Tell me a Story. This is a circle blog. Please see what Kim has to offer this month. Don’t forget to leave a little love on their pages.

My recent blogs:

If you are interested in seeing more of my photography take a look at my site LUPJi Photography, my Facebook page or my Flickr Page.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page